The Landry Castle 1907 – Villa des Marguerites
In 1904, after selling his general store in Grand-Métis, Arthur C. Landry leads to Mont-Joli with his wife Ulpide C. Marceau and their seven children. They buy the same year, the store and stocks from the trader Pierre Gagnon, to open the store Arthur C. Landry.
It was in 1907 that Mr. Landry, with the help of local entrepreneur Auguste Desrosiers, started the construction of the ‘Villa des Marguerites’, a family residence named in memory of Marguerite, Arthur’s daughter, who had died aged just 23.
The Château Landry is renowned for its architectural heritage, which pays testament to the neo-Queen Anne era, a local style typical in Québec at the turn of the 20th century.
The Landry family were unquestionably one of the most well-known families of their time and left their own distinctive mark on the town of Mont-Joli in the first half of the 20th century. For this reason, the ‘Villa des Marguerites’ was renamed ‘Château Landry’ by the people of Mont-Joli and in 2002 was declared a national historic monument. A fitting tribute to this beautiful property that has transcended time, and a legacy gifted by the enterprising family who lived there.